More Short Shorts.

Okay, just one.  I’m quite fluish today, and need to get to sleep and get up tomorrow and find just the right balance of coffee and cough syrup to get through a long day at work.

Please enjoy another installment in my series, Adventures in Mexican Regional Transit, which is tentatively called “Things I Want to Say, but Don’t, Part I,” because I have a thing for really long titles.

See you next week.  Feel free to comment, as always.

****

I step off the bus in front of the taxi stand.  Four drivers sit on the bench in the shade, giggling and slapping each other on the back.  One signals to me and calls out, “Taxi?”  I hold the back of my hand up to him to answer thanks but no thanks, and turn to my right.  The sight of you makes me stop for a moment, and I swing my head back to the drivers, who begin laughing harder, one almost falling off the bench.

I walk to a spot behind you, trying not to look until you can’t see me.  I find a space where there is enough space between me and the others to light a cigarette and take you in.  Knee high boots with low heels.  Cut off shorts, cut up high enough to show a hint of buttock, so close in the crotch that we can almost see it all.  The cropped vest, showing off your midriff, and yes, I can see that you take care, your stomach flat and tight.

An old man walks behind you, looks you up and down, shakes his head in disbelief.  A pickup, three workers in the cab and another six in the bed passes by, slows down, the men whistling, kissing the air, calling out, “Mamacita!”

You look down the road, focused on the numbers of the buses as they approach, trying to ignore them, but your mouth purses in irritation and you flip your head away from them.

I want to say, “Well, you should have thought about before you left the house dressed like that, young man.”  But I don’t.

****

My song choice for this week is, well, obvious.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Short Shorts.

  1. Cheryl says:

    I enjoyed that. I loved the way I assumed it was talking about a woman, although you didn’t make the image overly feminine, just ambiguous, and then the revelation at the end made me smile and read through again to see it from a different angle. Great choice of song. 🙂

  2. Jim says:

    HAHA well done! Get well SHORTLY!

  3. Another good story, George. Oh, and I told you not to get worse. No one ever listens to me.

  4. ED Martin says:

    That was fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

