What would you tell you?

Stormtrooper-Regret

Because of time constraints (Story a Day and writing my entry for Spark: A Creative Anthology, Contest Two, I’m just posing a question today.  I look forward to your answers, and hope to discuss it in the comments throughout the week.

The question came up the other day: “What would you tell your twenty-year-old self if you had the opportunity?”

Think about that for a moment.  Make a list.  What tops your list of regrets, stupid choices you made, or smart choices you didn’t?

I have my own answer to this, which I will share next Saturday.  Thanks for playing!

This entry was posted in Psychology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What would you tell you?

  1. CJ Jessop says:

    I thought about this a lot before answering. I’m not sure if there are many things that I would tell myself not to do (except maybe the alcoholic poisoning I got once). Mostly because while some of them made me miserable for a while, without them I might not be where I am now. If I’d never married the good-looking biker, I wouldn’t have had my two children. Yes, I might have had children still, but not those two. And if I’d still married him, and left him when I should have, I might not have found an outlet for my frustrations in writing, and then I might not have started to take it more seriously. So, I don’t know. Good and bad, it’s all helped to shape me.

    Maybe the advice I would give to my 20 year old self is: it’s going to be tough, at times, but don’t give up.

  2. George, I’d like to answer your question…but I was 20 only 4 years ago! So I can’t say I’ve gained a tremendous perspective over so short a time.

    If I could say anything to my teenager self (say 14-15), I’d say it gets better. I’d say hang in there, ’cause even though it feels like hell and you don’t know what ways up and what ways down, everything’s going to even out. I’d say stop moping so much and worrying, stop being so fixated on whatever boy happens to have peaked your interest — ’cause the best is yet to come. But mostly the part about it getting better and easier.

    Back around that time, I was going through a particularly nasty rollercoaster of emotions and one of my camp counsellors said pretty much the same thing. It gets better. She gave me hope, but I think it always helps to hear it from more people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

